PHASEgaming

Jason Pook's Games Design Blog

3D Realisation- Ideas (16/10/11)

5 Comments

So after my last lesson on 3D Realisation (last blog) I had gone away with full understanding of my field on work which would be 3d environment artist and I had picked my chosen 3d artist of Tor Frick. From this I had to go away and gather some research so that I could give myself a good idea what I might be doing my 3D Model on. So what I did was go onto Tor Frick’s website to gather some inspiration for my work. Although I still do not have a reply from him when I emailed him I believe that I can learn a lot just from looking and studying his work in detail.

So the ideas I was grasping from this video was originally a tomb entrance, I could do the “Data core” which is his idea and shape/layout in UDK but do it in a sort of mythological style with statues and gargoyles, with encryptions on the walls and a really ancient carved out stone look to it. So that was the vision, a tomb/lair entrance in a ancient texture. So I did a really quick sketch of this when pitching my ideas to Paul, it had the same layout as Tor Frick’s Data core but with a cut out segment of the wall so that when I model it you can see the inside of the model in both the digital and physical form. So although Paul liked the idea he told me “try not to run before you can walk” which basically meant that I was setting the bar too high for my first ever 3d model, we all want to make an amazing 25 story skyscraper with amazing detail but for a beginner 3d artist such as myself it just isn’t possible in the time frame we have for this brief as well as maintaining with other briefs. It would also take hours and hours to render what I had described which would be an issue due to limited lesson time.

The plan of action from that was to cut it down, I still wanted to focus my work on the style of the Data core and do the ancient stone carved lair with lava streams and amazing carvings. So in the Data core main circular room you have the centre pillar with all the electronics on them including what looks like Hal 5000 from 2001: Space Odyssey.#1datacore1 So this centre pillar I pictured myself doing a statue with a slightly damaged and aged surface to represent the scale of the history behind it, but I thought that wasn’t enough and I didn’t want to do the same old dragon carved in stone but I still wanted a winged animal to perch over the top of the statue. These are my ideas on the winged animal:

  • Eagle
  • Griffin
  • Dragon
  • Dragonfly (Dinosaur age massive one)
  • pterodactyl

#1Eagle_landing_wings_up_2012_Robert_OToole_Photography_D

http://www.robertotoole.com/category/workshops/bald-eagle-ws/

#1177428745

http://wallpapers4u.yolasite.com/resources/Dragon/1177428745.jpg

#13131500-1425719678-Techn

http://www.comicvine.com/forums/rpg-9/the-tale-of-orran-1471458/

INDIA dragonfly

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/earthnews/5877615/Dragonfly-could-be-greatest-migrator.html

#1mw_pterodactyl_02

http://yuhayray.com/mw_pterodactyl.html

Each of these ideas would be very striking on top of this stone carved statue, but something was drawing me to the eagle maybe due to how majestic it looks with its wings arched at landing just like the picture, Even though a griffin does have an eagles head which is definitely striking I do still want to have a sense of realism to my work and with a griffin being a mythological creature I am going to focus on the eagle. I am currently in progress of sketching an eagle and I also have watched a few videos on how to mould a eagle out of clay for when it comes round to doing the physical model.

Overall im pleased with my design focus for 3D and the Eagle Statue could be a fantastic thing to put in my portfolio if I put the time and effort in to add the detail to the statue. Currently now its at the pure research and ideas stage so I haven’t actually had the chance to explore and test any 3d modelling programs yet so im just sketching my ideas and resourcing my physical clay so when we do begin to use the software im all set in research and planning.

Author: Jason Pook 3D

Current student at Hull School of Art and Design studying Games Design.

5 thoughts on “3D Realisation- Ideas (16/10/11)

  1. Pingback: 3D Realisation- Physical Modelling (23/10/13) | PHASEgaming

  2. Pingback: 3D Realisation – Design Ideas (18/10/13) | Emerald Sword Gaming

  3. Pingback: 3d Realisation- Software Inroduction (13/11/13) | PHASEgaming

  4. Pingback: Technical Skills/ 3D Realisation- Sketch Up Advanced. | PHASEgaming

  5. Pingback: Introduction to Gaming- Group Project “Alaskan Secret”. | PHASEgaming

Leave a Reply

